Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl

The Georgia Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl is open to students in grades four through twelve across the state. The winning teams from the Divisional Bowls meet at the Annual Conference on Children’s Literature in March for the State Championship of the Georgia Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl. 

This year, Sego Middle School students Travine Allen, Jeslyn Barnwell, Gloria Charles, Teeniko Gadlin, Jazmine Kindell, Kaitlyn Ramsey, and Layla Scott won the RCSS Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl for the middle school division with their coach, Mary Alta Goodspeed. The Sego Team will go on to the Division II HRRB Reading Bowl on March 4 in Greensboro, Georgia.

Listed below are all winners of the 6th Annual RCSS Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl: High School: Hephzibah High School (First place) and Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School (Second place); Middle School: Sego Middle School (First place) and Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School (Second place); Elementary School: Lake Forest Hills Elementary School (First place) and Warren Road Elementary School (Second place).